Off to the Vineyards… to work, this time

I am officially on my latest workaway venture– this time, a vineyard in Waipara (an area about an hour north of Christchurch).  The region is smaller than Blenheim’s wine region, but still produce some wines of great quality– Pinot Noir & Riesling being what the region is more known for. During my two-week stay, I will attempt to absorb as much knowledge about vineyards & wine-making as possible (in addition to some sampling, I’m sure.. hehe).  Peter and Maura, my host couple, live smack in the middle of several vineyards, but within cycling distance of the nearest town.  Maura works at the Police Station in Christchurch, and Pete works primarily on the vineyard. They have 16 acres (definitely a smaller vineyard), but grow high quality grapes of four varieties: Pinot Noir (about 60% of total production), Pinot Gris, Chardonnay, and Riesling. So far I have unclipped trellis wires, pruned vines, and tied pruned vines.

trellis clips

Trellis clip

IMG_2676

YEAH, I tied that. Bam.

Check out these gum boots! And the fanny pack!

Check out these gum boots! And the fanny pack!

Not a bad gig. Or view, for that matter.  As my computer will not work on the wireless network here, it’s also been a good break from things I usually distract myself with… definitely a good thinking and journaling space.

Last fall leaves

Last fall leaves

First snow!

First snow!

This is what I woke up to!

This is what I woke up to!

Nearly too perfect to be real

Nearly too perfect to be real

IMG_2671

Taylor, my… helper?

 

Weather has been kinda wacky around here the last week– we even got  a dusting of snow yesterday morning– so this is the first nice day I’ve had to get some work in the vineyard done early enough to bike into town and also to the winery to which Pete & Maura sell their grapes, Pegasus Bay. I spent about an hour & a half in the cellar room tasting amazing wines & chatting with the German lady who has been working there for nearly 20 years– and still loves it. Speaks well of the business.

Maybe I will try to get a job here if I come back on a work visa in a few months…. wink wink 😉

Leave a Reply

